Indian Premier League (IPL) Wiki

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional league for Twenty20 cricket competition in India. It was initiated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), headquartered in Mumbai, and is supervised by BCCI Vice President Rajeev Shukla, who serves as the league's Chairman and Commissioner. It is currently contested by nine teams, consisting of players from around the world. It was started after an altercation between the BCCI and the Indian Cricket League.

In 2010, IPL became the first sporting event ever to be broadcast live on YouTube in association with Indiatimes. Its brand value is estimated to be around $3.67 billion in fourth season. According to the Annual Review of Global Sports Salaries by, IPL is the second highest-paid league, based on first-team salaries on a pro rata basis, second only to the NBA. It is estimated that the average salary of an IPL player over a year would be $3.84 million.

The fifth season with 9 teams started on 4 April 2012 in Chennai, for which the players auction was held on 4 February 2012 in Bangalore. The season saw IPL authority increasing the number of players in each squad to 33 from the previous limit of 30 and also increased the salary cap by $2 million. Kolkata Knight Riders were winners of the 5th Season.

For the sixth season BCCI terminated Deccan Chargers and replaced it with Sun Tv's Sunrisers Hyderabad again making it a total of nine teams to participate in 2013 edition of the tournament. It was confirmed on 25 October 2012 that Sun TV Network won the bid at 85.05 crore per year.

IPL Winners - By Year

Year Host Venue Finals Result
2008 India DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings Rajasthan Royals
Won by 3 wickets
2009 South Africa New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg Deccan Chargers vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Deccan Chargers
Won by 6 runs
2010 India DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings
Won by 22 runs
2011 India MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai Super Kings
Won by 58 runs
2012 India MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata Knight Riders
Won by 5 wickets
2013 India Eden Gardens, Kolkata Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Riders
Won by 23 runs
2014 India/UAE M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru Kings XI Punjab vs Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata Knight Riders
Won by 3 wickets
2015 India Eden Gardens, Kolkata TBD TBD